Wednesday, 07 October 2020 06:39

Burna Boy And Rema Get 2020 MTV EMA Nominations

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

MTV today revealed nominations for the "2020 MTV EMAs, and the Best African Act has been nominated by Nigerian singers Burna Boy and Rema."

Burna Child, winner of the BET Awards 2020 and Grammy nominee, was once again nominated for Best African Act, a category he won in 2019. Master KG, Kabza de Tiny and DJ Maphorisa (South Africa), Sheebah (Uganda), Gaz Mawete (Democratic Republic of the Congo) and Rema (Nigeria) are all African singers in the category.


Commenting on the announcement, Monde Twala, ViacomCBS Networks Africa's Senior Vice President and General Manager, said "The 2020 MTV EMAs is one of the world's largest entertainment stages and the African candidates are definitely making their presence known globally this year." This affirms our contribution to ensuring that our varied talent on international stages continues to be appreciated. Congratulations on this success to all our African candidates.'

On the international scene, Lady Gaga is in the lead with seven nods, including “Best Artist,” “Best Pop,” and “Best Video” for her duet with Ariana Grande, “Rain On Me,” which also secured a position in the “Best Song” and “Best Collaboration” categories. BTS and Justin Bieber each received five nods, within categories including “Biggest Fans” and “Best Pop.”

The nominations include three new categories: “Best Latin,” “Video for Good” and “Best Virtual Live.” The “Best Local Act” category returns, with nominations including: Lady Gaga, Megan Thee Stallion and Cardi B for “Best US Act,” Justin Bieber and The Weeknd for “Best Canadian Act” and Dua Lipa for “Best UK & Ireland Act,” and more.

Marking the 27th edition of one of the biggest nights in global music, the “2020 MTV EMAs” will unite fans at home with the world’s hottest names in music. Details on performers and presenters will be announced soon.

Read 202 times

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.